Governing Board

The 20-member Governing Board of the Conference of European Churches meets twice annually to oversee the implementation of the decisions of the assembly.

In June, the 2018 Novi Sad General Assembly of the Conference of European Churches elected a new presidency. Rev. Christian Krieger of the Reformed Protestant Church of Alsace and Lorraine was elected president, and as vice-presidents the Rt Rev. Dr Gulnar Francis-Dehqani of the Church of England and Metropolitan Cleopas Strongylis of the Ecumenical Patriarchate.


Rev. Christian Krieger
Reformed Protestant Church of Alsace and Lorraine
Rev. Christian Krieger, President of CEC. Photo: Albin Hillert/CEC.

Photo: Albin Hillert/CEC

Rt Rev. Dr Guli Francis-Dehqani
Church of England
Rt Rev. Dr Gulnar Francis-Dehqani, Vice-President of CEC. Photo: Albin Hillert/CEC.

Photo: Albin Hillert/CEC

Metropolitan Cleopas of Sweden and All Scandinavia

Ecumenical Patriarchate

Metropolitan Cleopas Strongylis, Vice-President of CEC, Photo: Albin Hillert/CEC.

Photo: Albin Hillert/CEC

Governing Board members: 

  • Mr Andreas Henriksen Aarflot, Church of Norway
  • Rt Rev. Nick Baines, Church of England
  • Rev. Jelle Brouwer, United Protestant Church of Belgium
  • Dr Valérie Duval-Poujol, Federation of Evangelical Baptist Churches of France
  • Very Rev. Anders Gadegaard, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Denmark
  • Archimandrite Ignatios, Church of Greece
  • Ms Emma Weaver, Methodist Church in Britain
  • Metropolitan Joseph of Western and Southern Europe, Romanian Orthodox Church
  • Prof Petr Kratochvil, Evangelical Church of Czech Brethren
  • Rev. Frank Kopania, Evangelical Church in Germany
  • Bishop Hovakim Manukyan, Diocese of the Armenian Church of the United Kingdom and Ireland
  • Rev. Alison McDonald, Church of Scotland
  • Archimandrite Nektarios, Church of Cyprus
  • Dr Aleksandra Pistalo, Serbian Orthodox Church
  • Ms Zsuzsanna Répás, Reformed Christian Church in Slovakia
  • Ms Lea Kathrin Schlenker, Evangelical Church in Germany

Electoral reserve:

  • Rev. Alfredo Abad, Spanish Evangelical Church
  • Archimandrite Iakovos Andriopoulos, Church of Greece
  • Rev. Ella-Maria Boba, Evangelical Church in Austria
  • Ms Katarzyna Charkiewicz, Polish Autocephalous Orthodox Church
  • Rev. Peter Ciaccio, Evangelical Methodist Church in Italy
  • Rev. Dr Vilmos Fischl, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Hungary
  • Ms Karine Haryutunyan, Armenian Apostolic Church
  • Ms Åsa Ingårda, Church of Sweden
  • Ms Renate Japenga, Protestant Church in the Netherlands
  • Rev. Klaas van der Kamp, Protestant Church in the Netherlands
  • OKR Rainer Kiefer, Evangelical Church in Germany
  • Ms Maria Mountraki, Orthodox Church of Finland
  • Mr Tuomo Mäkelä, Evangelical Lutheran Church of Finland
  • Rev. Gregory Pelushi, Orthodox Autocephalous Church of Albania
  • Rev. Daniel Topalski, United Methodist Church in Bulgaria
  • Dr Petr Jan Vins, Old-Catholic Church in the Czech Republic

Want to know more? Get to know our Member Churches >> 

Print This Page Print This Page